Pocklington League 2011, Gala 2

Post date: 09-Jul-2011 19:49:38

Saturday July 9th was the date for round 2 of this years Pocklington League. Adwick, Armthorpe, Askern and New Earswick all met up again, this time at Armthorpe, for another fun filled afternoon of racing. In the first gala the point totals quickly divided the gala into two, with Adwick and Armthorpe battling for the victory while Askern and New Earswick fought to decide third and fourth... today quickly turned into a ver similar story. Out of the 48 events contested Adwick and Armthorpe combined to win a total of 41, Askern won the other 7 events and New Earswick were unable to post a victory in any event.

After the first round of relays Adwick had a narrow 1 point lead over Armthorpe. The Kingfishers were clinging on thanks to the girls 13 years and boys 15 years team posting victories and 5 of the other teams posting solid second place finishes.

The tide began to turn in Armthorpe's favor during the first individual swims for each age group though. Katy Burton (girls 11yrs back), Reece Fielding (boys 13 years breast) and Kelsey Wilson (girls 13 years breast) all claimed 2nd place to keep the pressure on Adwick and remain just one point behind. Then came the turning point in the gala when 4 wins on the trot, thanks to Jamie Clarke (boys 15 yrs fly), Caitlin Dixon (girls 15 years fly), Dave Holmes (open age boys free) and Tina Wilson (open age girls free), opened up a 7 point lead.

The second round of individuals was a little more evenly split with Adwick reducing the deficit by 1 point to 6. Katy Burton managed to pick up her second win of the afternoon, touching 2 seconds clear of second place in the 11 years 100m breaststroke. There was also a commanding performance from Torin Wilson in the 15 years 100m free, easing off after the first 75m Torin still managed to dip under the minute barrier for a comfortable 5 second victory. The other winner in this section was one of our DARTES superstars, Heidi Smith. Fresh off the back of a trip to Scottish Nationals Heidi showed her strength to step up to the open age and swim away with full points in the 100m backstroke.

As the third round got underway the Armthorpe boys took control, picking up wins in the 13 years free, 15 years back and open age group free. Jarvis Parkinson put on a show in the 13 years freestyle coming home 6 or 7 metres clear of the field in 1:02.11. Jamie Clarke was just as dominant in the 15 years backstroke, 4 seconds clear of the field and then to finish things coach Dave put his goggles on and managed to get through 100m of breaststroke.

At this point Armthorpe had stretched the lead ever so slightly to 8 points over Adwick, so going into the final round of individuals I know the team was quietly confident... and rightfully so. In the last 14 events of the gala Armthorpe took 8 first places and 6 second places - no thirds, no fourths and NO DQ's!! Torin and Heidi picked up their second individual wins of the gala in the 15 years breaststrokes and Dave made it through the 100m fly in first place too.

The relays rounded off the gala in much the same way that it started with the 13 years and 15 years teams providing the big pints. This time though both the boys and girls all coming away with wins. This meant that through the whole gala the 15 years boys team of Jamie Clarke, Torin Wilson, Dale Marshbank and James Mullen proved invincible, winning every event and to top it off, the smallest winning margin through their 6 events was over 2 seconds! That's a great achievement boys, well done.

A big congratulations to everyone else as well, you all contributed to what turned out to be an 18 point victory! Well done. Now why don't you flick over to the Photo Gallery to see some of the snaps that budding photographer Kayleigh Briggs took during the gala. Can you spot yourself?!?!

Final Points

Armthorpe - 154

Adwick - 136

New Earswick - 92

Askern - 88

There is now a long break until rounds 3 & 4 of the 2011 Pocklington League. The next gala will take place at Adwick on October 1st and then the final round will be at New Earswick on October 15th.